Friday, August 30, 2013


• The Book Released by Hamid Ansari, the Vice President of India and compiled by Kumar Deepak Das- An Ardent Patriot– Dinesh Goswami
• The Parliamentary Speaker who on Parliamentary Speaker who sworn in as Bangladesh President to replace Zillur Rahman- Abdul Hamid

• An IAS officer of the 1979 batch who on 1 May 2013 was appointed as Chief Secretary of Andhra Pradesh government- Prasanna Kumar Mohanty

• The Former President of Pakistan who was imposed with a lifetime ban from contesting elections-Pervez Musharraf
• The communication Satellite successfully launched by China from Xichang Satellite Launch Center in Sichuan province- Zhongxing-11  
• The last British member of the Church of North India’s Delhi Brotherhood who passed away on 30 April 2013- Father Ian Weathrall

• The day celebrated as the World Press Freedom Day across the world with a theme safe to Speak- 3 May 2013

• The Indian national and a death row prisoner in the Lahore’s Kot Lakhpat Jail who died on 2 May 2013 at the Lahore's Jinnah hospital- Sarabjit Singh
• The  young Indian biologist who was honoured with the Whitley award, also known as Green Oscar, in London on 2 May 2013- Aparajita Datta

• The former tour player and president of ATP since January 2012 who died on 3 May 2013- Brad Drewett

• The Person who on 3 May 2013 took over the office of Chief Secretary of Uttarakhand for second time- Subhash Kumar

• The prosecutor who was handling the Mumbai terror attack and Bhutto assassination case was gunned down in Islamabad- Zulfiqar Ali

• Italian Deputy Foreign Minister who was appointed as the special envoy to India to work out on fair trials for the Italian Marines- Staffan de Mistura

• The Prime Minister of Italy who died on 6 May 2013 at Rome after serving as the Italian Prime Minister seven times between 1972 and 1992- Giulio Andreotti

• The first ever national surfing and stand up paddle (SUP) competition of India concluded at Kovalam beach on 5 May 2013- Spice Coast Open

• The Senegalese singer and Finnish composer who were named as the recipients of Polar Music Prize 2013- Youssou Ndour and Kaija Saariaho
• An Indian conglomerate company who created a new Guinness World Record on 6 May 2013 when its 121653 workers sang India’s national anthem in Lucknow- Sahara India Pariwar
• The Pakistani Prisoner who was attacked by an inmate in Kot Bhalwal jail in Jammu died at the hospital in Chandigarh on 9 May 2013- Sanaullah Ranjay

• The person who was appointed as the Head of the World Trade Organisation and will take the charge of his office from outgoing Pascal Lamy in September 2013- Roberto Azevedo

• The English film director, actor, screenwriter and novelist, who died on 8 May 2013 in Virginia Water, Surrey following the long illness- Bryan Forbes

• The Legendary actor who was presented with the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke award for life time achievement  10 May 2013- Pran

• The leader of the Indian National Congress who on 11 May 2013 was sworn in as the 22nd chief minister of the state of Karnataka- Siddaramaiah

• The Deputy Speaker of Madhya Pradesh State Assembly and a senior leader of Congress Party who died due to cardiac arrest- Harvansh Singh 
• The renowned Islamic Scholar and recipient of National Communal Harmony Award in 1997, who died on 14 May 2013- Asghar Ali Engineer

• The acting director of IRS  who had resigned amid the criticism over the tax agency's handling of conservative groups seeking tax-exempt status- Steven Miller
• The Person who on 16 May 2013 appointed as governor of Arunachal Pradesh as the term of present incumbent Gen (retd) J J Singh ended in January 2013- Nirbhay Sharma
• The  Saudi woman who made history by reaching the Everest summit- the world's highest mountain- Raha Moharrak

• The place where the 45th Session of the Indian Labour Conference concluded on 18 May 2013- New Delhi

• The Person who on 19 May 2013 became the first Pakistani woman to scale Mount Everest. Samina Baig is 22 years of age- Samina Baig

• NASA’s Mars Rover which broke the 40-year-old extraterrestrial distance record on 16 May 2013, after 9 long years of Mars exploration- Opportunity rover

• The Person who was elected as the Member of Executive Council of WMO during the 65th Executive Council of WMO meeting which is ongoing at Geneva- Laxman Singh Rathore - See more at:

No comments:

Post a Comment